CNY Solidarity Coalition

United in defense of our community and our neighbors


Tell Governor Hochul To Sign Bill (S3505B) Moving Local Elections To Even-Numbered Years.

New York counties, cities, towns and villages have multi-million or even billion dollar budgets like Onondaga County. Yet officials are elected with less votes than our state and federal representatives due to low turnout. We have seen in Onondaga County, how low turnout in local elections silences our voices. Residents demand services and instead representatives spend over 86 million dollars of taxpayer money on an aquarium. Local politicians promise to support non-partisan and independent redistricting and instead we get a gerrymandered map so they can continue to not listen to their constituents.

Here is a solution! The New York State Legislature passed a bill to move local elections to even numbered years. Even year elections see over 50% turnout. Odd year elections only see 30% turnout. Moving odd year elections to even years will increase turnout in critical local races. Let’s raise our voices and let the Governor know we want to move local elections to even years to increase turnout. 

Information on local races is hard to find as candidates for state and federal races announce their campaigns earlier every year. Let’s make our Democracy stronger by electing all our representatives in even years!

Sign Bill S3505B today!

November 7 General Election

See Onondaga Countywide Candidates listed below. Click the buttons to see candidates running for Onondaga County Legislature, City of Syracuse, town government and village government in Onondaga County. Onondaga county has 19 towns and 15 villages.

Onondaga Countywide Candidates

* incumbent | bold names are projected winner (ballots are still being counted)

Family Court Judge

Vote for 2

Joseph Zavaglia (D)

Douglas Demarche (R)

Diane Plumley (D)

Lourdes Rosario (R)

County Executive

Term: 4 years

Bill Kinne (D)

Ryan McMahon (R)*

District Attorney

Term: 4 years

Chuck Keller (D)

William Fitzpatrick (R)*

Christine Varga (CON)


Term: 4 years

Marty Masterpole (D)*

Casey Jordan (R)


Term: 4 years

Emily Essi (D)

Lisa Dell (R)* 

Propositions: (on back of ballot)

One: Removal of Small City School Districts From Special Constitutional Debt Limitation so they will be treated the same as all other school districts. More Info

Two: Extending Sewage Project Debt Exclusion From Debt Limit: extends for ten years the authority of counties, cities, towns and villages to remove from their constitutional debt limits debt for the construction of sewage facilities. Learn More

City of Syracuse Proposition One: Increase transparency and accountability between Governing bodies and the Citizens of Syracuse, by clarifying the scope of audits conducted by City Auditor and, subject to Common Council approval, permitting the City Auditor to retain independent legal counsel. More Info

Low Turnout in Local Elections Silences Our Voices
Vote November 7, 2023!

Download & Print Our Poster (pdf)

En Español »